Remembering Yankee Stadium:
Opening Day 1923
(As the games at Yankee Stadium
dwindle to a precious few - -for your reading pleasure adapted from
REMEMBERING YANKEE STADIUM: AN ORAL AND NARRATIVE HISTORY OF THE
HOUSE THAT RUTH BUILT, STC, ABRAMS)
Jacob Ruppert always insisted "Yankee Stadium was a
mistake, not mine, but the Giants."
And in truth, had it not been for the Giants, there
might never have been a Yankee Stadium.
Beginning life as the Baltimore Orioles in 1901, the
franchise moved to Manhattan in 1903. Named the Highlanders, they
played at Hilltop Park in Washington Heights for a decade. In 1913,
the Yankees as they were now known were tenants of the New York
Giants at the Polo Grounds. The landlord Giants and the tenant
Yankees never got along.
Ruth's Yankees were a magnet drawing more than a
million each season from 1920 to 1922. Never had the Giants drawn a
million fans. Angered and annoyed at the gate success of Babe Ruth
and Company, the Giants told the Yankees to look around for other
Ruppert and Huston suggested the Polo Grounds be demolished and
replaced by a 100,000 seat stadium to be used by both teams as well
as for other sporting events. Nothing came of the suggestion.
So the duo set about to create a new ballpark. Shaped along the
lines of the Roman Coliseum, it would be the greatest and grandest
edifice of its time. Many sites and schemes were considered. One
idea was to build atop railroad tracks along the West Side near
32nd Street. The Hebrew Orphan Asylum, at Amsterdam Avenue and 137th
Street, was a serious contender. Long Island City in Queens was
also given some consideration.
Finally, on February 6, 1921, a little more than
year after the Yankees had acquired Ruth from the Red Sox, a Yankee
press release announced that ten acres in the west Bronx, City Plot
2106, Lot 100, land from the estate of William Waldorf Astor, had
been purchased for $675,000 (just under $8 million in 2007 dollars).
The site sat directly across the Harlem River, less than a mile from
and within walking distance of the home of the New York Giants, at
the mouth of a small body of water called Crowell's Creek.
Some noted the site was strewn with boulders and garbage. Others
criticized the choice as being too far away from the center of New
York City. Some dubbed the plan "Rupert's Folly," believing that
fans would never venture to a Bronx-based ballpark.
"They are going up to Goatville," snapped John J.
McGraw, manager of the Giants. "And before long they will be lost
sight of. A New York team should be based on Manhattan Island."
Ruppert never publicly responded to McGraw's criticism. But he did
request newspapers to print the address of Yankee Stadium in all
stories. And for the first game at his new baseball palace, he
included on each ticket stub:
"Yankee Stadium, 161st Street and River Avenue."
Design responsibilities for the new "yard" were handed over to the
Osborn Engineering Company of Cleveland, Ohio. The White
Construction Company of New York was awarded the construction job
which Huston oversaw. Ever demanding and meticulous, Ruppert
mandated that the massive project be completed "at a definite price"
$2.5-million ( about $29-million in 2007 dollars) and by Opening
Ground was broken on May 5, 1922. Sixteen days later Ruppert bought
out Huston's share of the Yankees for $1,500,000. "The Prince of
Beer" was now sole owner, a driven and driving force behind the
vision of the new home.
A millionaire many times over, Ruppert enjoyed giving
orders and having them followed to the letter. He lived at 1120
Fifth Avenue in Manhattan in a 15 room townhouse. He also had a
castle on the Hudson.
Some thought his new baseball park should be named "Ruth Field."
Ruppert, however, was adamant that it be known as "Yankee Stadium."
It would be the first ballpark to be referred to as a stadium.
Original architectural plans called for a triple-decked park roofed
all the way around. An early press release explained that the new
ballpark would be shaped like the Yale Bowl, enclosed with towering
embattlements making all events inside "impenetrable to all human
eyes, save those of aviators." Those without tickets would be unable
to catch even a glimpse of the action.
However, that initial lofty design was quickly scaled
down. It was thought those plans would create too foreboding a
sports facility, being too much a tower and not a place to play
baseball, being a place where the sun would hardly ever shine.
Instead the triple deck would stop at the foul poles.
And Jacob Ruppert notwithstanding, action on the field of play would
be visible from the elevated trains that passed by the outfield,
from the 161st Street station platform as well as from roofs and
higher floors of River Avenue apartment houses that would be built.
Fortunately, a purely decorative element survived the project's
early downsizing. A 15-foot deep copper frieze would adorn the front
of the roof which covered much of the Stadium's third deck. It would
become the park's signature feature.
The new stadium, virtually double the size of any
existing ball park, favored left-handed power; the right-field foul
pole was only 295 feet from home plate (though it would shoot out to
368 by right center). The left- and right-field corners were only
281 feet and 295 feet, but left field sloped out dramatically to 460
feet. Center field was a monstrous 490 feet away.
A quarter-mile running track that doubled as a
warning track for outfielders surrounded the field. Under second
base, a 15-foot-deep brick-lined vault containing electrical,
telephone, and telegraph connections was put in place for boxing
Three concrete decks extended from behind home plate
to each corner. There was a single deck in left-center and wooden
bleachers around the rest of the outfield. The new stadium had the
feel of a gigantic horseshoe. The 10,712 upper-grandstand seats and
14,543 lower grandstand seats were fixed in place by 135,000
individual steel castings on which 400,000 pieces of maple lumber
were fastened by more than a million screws. Total seating capacity
was 58,000, enormous for that time.
The Yankee bullpen was in left center. The Yankee
dark green dugout was on the third base side. Bats were lined up at
the top of the dugout stairs. There was a record eight toilet rooms
for men and as many for women.
As was usual in that era, each white foul line
extended past home plate. There was also a dirt "pathway" leading
from the mound to home plate.
On Wednesday April 18, 1923, "The House That Ruth
Built" opened for business. It had been built on almost the same
spot where baseball had begun in the Bronx, a place where the Unions
of Morrisania had played and close to where the old Melrose Station
of the Harlem Railroad was located. The original street address was
800 Ruppert Place.
"Governors, general colonels, politicians, and
baseball officials," The New York Times reported, "gathered solemnly
yesterday to dedicate the biggest stadium in baseball."
True to Jake Ruppert's mandate and vision - "The Yankee Stadium," as
it was first called, had been constructed at a cost of $2.5 million
in just 185 working days.
The reaction to the newest playing field in the major
leagues was over the top. A Philadelphia newsman declared: "It is a
thrilling thought that perhaps 2,500 years from now archaeologists,
spading up the ruins of Harlem and the lower Bronx, will find arenas
that outsize anything that the ancient Romans and Greeks built."
Opening Day was, appropriately, Red Sox versus
Yankees. A massive crowd assembled for the most exciting moment in
the history of the Bronx. The day was chilly. Many in the huge
assemblage were bundled up with heavy sweaters, coats, fedoras and
derbies although some, in the spirit of the moment, wore dinner
The announced attendance was 74,217, later scaled
back to 60,000. The Fire Department ordered the gates closed and
25,000 were denied entrance. Those unable to get inside soldiered up
outside against the cold listening to the noise of the crowds and
the martial beat of the Seventh Regiment Band directed by the famed
John Phillip Sousa.
Red Sox owner Harry Frazee walked on the field
side-by-side with Jake Ruppert who always claimed that his idea of a
great day at the ballpark, was when "the Yankees score eight runs in
the first inning, and then slowly pulled away." Yankees and Red Sox
were escorted by the band to the flagpole in deep centerfield, where
the home team's 1922 pennant and the American flag were raised.
Ruppert then took a seat in the celebrity box where
Baseball Commissioner Kenesaw Mountain Landis, New York State
Governor Al Smith, and New York City Mayor John Hylan were waiting
for the game to begin.
At 3:25 Babe Ruth was presented with an oversized bat handsomely
laid out in a glass case.
At 3:30 Governor Al Smith tossed out the first ball to Yankee
catcher Wally Schang.
At 3:35 home plate umpire Tommy Connolly shouted:
The temperature was a brisk 49 degrees. Wind blew
dust from the dirt road leading to the Stadium and whipped away at
pennants and hats.
In the third inning with Whitey Witt and Joe Dugan on
base, George Herman "Babe" Ruth stepped into the batter's box. He
had said: "I'd give a year of my life if I can hit a home run in the
first game in this new park." Boston pitcher Howard Ehmke threw a
slow pitch. Bam! Ruth slugged the ball on a line into the
right-field bleachers - the first home run in Yankee Stadium
The New York Times called it a "savage home run that
was the real baptism of Yankee Stadium."
Sportswriter Heywood Broun remarked: "It would have been a home run
in the Sahara Desert."
Crossing home plate, removing his cap, extending it, Ruth waved to
the standing, screaming crowd.
LEIGH MONTVILLE: Babe Ruth always said that of all
the home runs he hit, his favorite home run was the one he hit the
day they opened Yankee Stadium, the ballpark that was kind of built
The game moved on. Yankee stalwart "Sailor" Bob
Shawkey, a red sweatshirt under his jersey, fanned five, walked two,
allowed but just three hits, and pitched the Yankees to a 4-1
# # #
You can reach
Harvey Frommer at:
About the Author:
Harvey Frommer is in his 38th year of writing books.
A noted oral historian and sports journalist, the author of 42 sports
books including the classics: "New York City Baseball,1947-1957" and
"Shoeless Joe and Ragtime Baseball," his acclaimed REMEMBERING YANKEE
STADIUM was published in 2008 and his REMEMBERING FENWAY PARK: AN ORAL
AND NARRATIVE HISTORY OF THE HOME OF RED SOX NATION was published to
acclaim in 2011. The prolific Frommer is at work on When It Was
Just a Game, An Oral History on Super Bowel One.
His work has appeared in the New York Times, Los Angeles Times,
Washington Post, New York Daily News, Newsday, USA Today, Men's Heath,
The Sporting News, among other publications.
FROMMER SPORTSNET (syndicated) reaches a readership in the millions and
is housed on Internet search engines for extended periods of time.
on Twitter: http://twitter.com/south2nd
on Linked In: http://www.linkedin.com/profile/edit?locale=en_US
on the Web: http://www.dartmouth.edu/~frommer
Dr. Frommer is the Official Book Reviewer of Travel-Watch.
*Autographed copies of Frommer books are available .
Other Frommer sports related articles can be
Frommer along with his wife, Myrna Katz Frommer are the authors of
five critically acclaimed oral/cultural histories, professors at Dartmouth
College, and travel writers who specialize in cultural history, food, wine, and Jewish history and heritage
in the United States, Europe, and the Caribbean.
This Article is Copyright
© 1995 - 2014 by Harvey Frommer.
All rights reserved worldwide.